Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imagePoland goes to the polls in the Presidential elections round two

By Gemma Fox     Jul 4, 2010 in Politics
Poland goes to the polls again as Jarsoslaw Kaczynski and Bronislaw Komorowski go head to head in the second round of voting in the Polish Presidential elections.
On Sunday June 20 Poland went to the polls to elect in a new President following the tragic death of President Lech Kazcynski in April.
Originally starting with ten candidates the June 20 vote narrowed the poll down to two candidates for today's second round of elections.
Polling stations opened this morning in Poland at 0600 (CET) and will remain open until 2000 (CET).
Both candidates placed their votes early. Jaroslaw Kaczynski voted near his home in Żoliborz, north Warsaw and was accompanied, as in the previous poll, by hie niece Marta, the daughter of his deceased twin Lech.
Bronislaw Komorowski and his wife placed their votes in Ruda Maćkowa, Podlasie in the north east of Poland where they have a summer house.
It was reported that at 0800 (CET) after two hours of voting the turnout was at 2.52%. At the same time in the June 20 election only 1.85% had turned out, the National Electoral Commission states.
By 0800 (CET) the area with the highest turnout in the first two hours was the western seaside town of Ustronie Morskie where 20.17% of eligible voters in the area had already turned out to place their vote.
Overall 30 million Poles are eligible to vote in these second round elections between Kaczynski and Komorowski. Across Poland 25,000 polling stations are open for voting with 731 places set up in hospitals for those too sick to get to a polling station.
Poland's prison population, also eligible to vote, can do so at 100 stations set up for them to vote.
Poles abroad have also been able to vote with 250 stations set up in various locations.
When voting ceases and polling stations close at 2000 (CET) this evening Poland should be closer to finding out whether their new president will be Jaroslaw Kaczynski or Bronislaw Komorowski.
More about President, Poland, Kaczynski, Komorowski
More news from
Latest News
Top News