Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article image29,035 Canadian Tamils vote in election, results announced

By Andrew Moran     Jun 21, 2010 in Politics
Toronto - On Father's Day, tens of thousands of Canadian Tamils cast their vote to elect national, provincial and regional representatives to the National Council for Canadian Tamils. The election has been described by many voters and officials as "historic."
On Sunday, from Montreal to Edmonton, tens of thousands of Canadian Tamils casted their vote at 37 different polling stations to elect officials that best represent them in the National Council for Canadian Tamils (NCCT). In the Greater Toronto Area alone, more than three-quarters Canadian Tamils who voted took part in the Democratic process.
As Digital Journal reported last week, the NCCT is a grassroots organization that was established to preserve the Tamil culture, raise awareness of the important issues facing Tamils domestically and internationally and to speak for the Canadian Tamils that cannot speak.
β€œIt's a historic day for Canadian Tamils, with the pioneering effort in launching a grassroots organization where the youth and women have a fair representation,” said Anojini Kumar, a NCCT election official, in a press release e-mailed to Digital Journal by Tamil Elections Canada.
The unofficial results have been announced. It is expected soon that the Election Commission will endorse the final results.
National Executive Director unofficial votes (9 positions):
General Members
Thiva Pramsothy: 21,617
Christopher Pushparatnam: 4,574
Mohan Ramakrishnan: 24,885
Kavitha Senthilmurugan: 25,016
Neethan Shan: 24,338
Raj Subramanian: 23,770
Women Members
Darishika Selvasivam: No contest
Shagare Senthilgumar: No contest
Youth Members
Aravinthan Arumaithurai: 3,569
Krisna Saravanamuttu: 24,704
Suren Vadivelu: 3,601
Siva Vimalachandran: 23,774
Provincial Directors unofficial votes (13 positions):
Ontario General Members
Mahendran Manikam: 21,294
Piraba Nalliah: 22,900
Deva Sabapathy: 22,353
Sriparan Thangarajah: 4,026
Ontario Women Members
Luxmila Sritharan: No contest
Nanthini Vijayapavan: No contest
Ontario Youth Members
Nancy Kamalanathan: 23,358
Ashok Nithiananthan: 23,044
Dushan Nithiyanantham: 3,410
Raj Selvanayagam: 2,825
Eastern General Members (includes Quebec)
Selvadurai Theiventhiram: No contest
Sebastiampillai Thomas: No contest
Eastern Women Members
Subitha Tharmakulasegaram: No contest
Eastern Youth Members
Majooran Manoharan: No contest
Western Canada Members
Sureka Selvaratnam: No contest
Selvan Sinnadurai: No contest
Regional Councillors unofficial votes (22 positions):
Toronto West Regional Councillors
Soundharajah Kanapathiplllai: No contest
Balasingham Subramaniam: No contest
Senthilkumar Veluchchamy: No contest
Toronto East Regional Councillors
Robert Gnanapragasam: 7,375
Kumar Gnanasegaram: 7,651
Henri Kirupairajah: 2,129
Gobi Muthulingam: 7,672
Kugan Rasalingam: 7,622
Vicky Seevaratnam: 4,559
Varathan Somasundaram: 7,645
Santhi Thevarajah: 7,509
Peel Regional Council Members
Demison Alwin: No contest
Kan Ketheeswaran: No contest
James Mariyanayagam: No contest
Bavaneethan Nadarajah: No contest
Kokilathas Shanmugam: No contest
York Regional Council
Patrick Jeyaratnam: No contest
Thavam Krishnarajah: No contest
Meialagan Perampalam: No contest
Thiru Ponnuthurai: No contest
Ruban Ram: No contest
Shanthinee Sivakumaran: No contest
Rangan Thevarajah: No contest
More about Canadian tamils, National council for canadian, Election
More news from
Latest News
Top News