Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageBlackhawks win the Stanley Cup

By Michael Bearak     Jun 9, 2010 in Sports
The Chicago Blackhawks have beaten the Philadelphia Flyers to capture the Stanley Cup in a chaotic finish bringing the Cup to Chicago for the first time in 49 years.
Games three and six went to overtime in Philadelphia. After the Blackhawks had the lead after two periods they gave up the game tying goal was scored by Scott Hartnell of the Flyers with about four minutes left in the third period to force an overtime. Each game of the series had been won by the home team, except for tonight.
Just a matter of minutes into overtime Patrick Kane knocked a shot through from the left side of the net to the right corner just behind the vertical post. Then there was silence and confusion as the light and horn failed to go off. Still, Kane knew it and moments later, before their was a signal, the Blackhawks flooded the ice.
The Conn Smythe Trophy for MVP of the series went to 22-year old Jonathan Toews, the captain of the Blackhawks. He is the youngest captain in team history. Just minutes later Toews was presented with the Stanley Cup by NHL Commissioner Gary Bettman. As tradition the captain of the team got the trophy first, and Toews then handed it off to Marian Hossa, who had been in the finals the previous two years, but had been on the losing end both times.
The Flyer fans stayed and cheered as they had to watch the Blackhawks celebrate on their ice, but the Wachovia Center in Philadelphia was full on all levels with fans watching the celebration. Now after having watched the Bears, the White Sox, and the Bulls six times the Blackhawks will get their parade through the loop and out towards Grant Park for a victory celebration.
More about Chicago blackhawks, NHL, Stanley cup finals, Hockey
More news from
Sports Video
Latest News
Top News