Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageShaunessy Cohen Prize winner to be announced on March 10

By Susan Keeping     Feb 12, 2010 in Entertainment
The Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing will be presented on March 10, 2010 at a black tie dinner in Ottawa, Ontario. The five nominees for the prize have written books about famous Canadians or books that give a Canadian perspective on events.
The Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing was established in memory of Liberal MP Elizabeth Shaughnessy Cohen who collapsed and died of a cerebral hemorrage in the House of Commons in 1998. The award was established in 2000.
The Shaughnessy Cohen Prize is run by the Writers’ Trust of Canada and is awarded to “a non-fiction book that captures a subject of political interest to the Canadian reader and enhances our understanding of the issue.” The winner of the prize is awarded $25,000 and the finalists receive $2,500 each.
The award will be presented during Politics and the Pen, a dinner which will be held on March 10, 2010 at the Fairmont Chateau Laurier in Ottawa. The dinner will be hosted by politicians Jay Hill and Anne McLellan. The dinner raises money for the Writers’ Trust of Canada, which offers financial support to Canadian writers.
This year’s nominees are:
John English, Just Watch Me: The Life of Pierre Elliott Trudeau, 1968-2000
Terry Gould, Murder Without Borders: Dying For the Story in the World’s Most Dangerous Places
Rudyard Griffiths, Who We Are: A Citizen’s Manifesto
James Maskalyk, Six Months in Sudan: A Young Doctor in a War-torn Village
Daniel Poliquin, René Lévesque
More about Shaunessy cohen, Literary awards, Books
More news from
Entertainment Video
Latest News
Top News