Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageAlbert Pujols wins second straight NL MVP Award

By Andrew Moran     Nov 25, 2009 in Sports
St. Louis Cardinals' all-star first baseman, Albert Pujols, has won the National League MVP Award for the second straight year after hitting 47 home runs and obtaining a .327 batting average.
Albert Pujols, who holds a career batting average of .334, has won his third National League Most Valuable Player Award on Tuesday, according to the Associated Press. In the 2009 Major League Baseball season, Pujols led the league with 47 home runs, 124 runs, a slugging percentage of .658 and 44 intentional walks. He also hit 134 RBIs and obtained 115 walks in 160 games.
Baseball Writers' Association of America gave Pujols 32 first-place votes and is now in the same category as Stan the Man Musial with three MVP Awards, however, Musial never won his awards unanimously.
The Los Angeles Times notes that Pujols became the first player to repeat since San Francisco Giants outfielder Barry Bonds did it between 2001 and 2004.
The first-base slugger told reporters, reports the Toronto Sun, that his main focus is another World Series title, “I always make a joke. I got 10 fingers. I want to get nine more rings. I want to get as many as Derek Jeter has so far (five). Obviously that's hard to do.”
Florida Marlins’ Hanley Ramirez, Philadelphia Phillies’ Ryan Howard and Milwaukee Brewers’ Prince Fielder all were in contention for the NL MVP Award.
More about Albert pujols, Mvp award, Louis cardinals
More news from
Sports Video
Latest News
Top News