Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageNobel Prize Awarded To 3 Americans In Physics

By Oscar Brooks     Oct 6, 2009 in Science
The Associated Press is reporting that The Royal Swedish Academy of Science has awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics to three Americans. The three men are Charles K. Kao, 75 years old, Willard S. Boyle, 85 and George E. Smith, 79.
The $1.4 million dollar prize will be shared by the three men. Kao will receive $700,000, Boyle and Smith will receive $350,000 a piece.
Kao discovered how to transmit light signals long distance through very thin glass fibers, which led to fiber-optic communication networks that speed voice and data in a split second.
Boyle and Smith work for Bell Laboratories in Murray Hill, New Jersey. They invented a sensor that turns light into electrical signals.
This invention was the front runner to digital imaging, which led to digital photography.
For more on the 2009 Nobel Prize, log onto nobelprize.
More about Nobel prize, Physics, Americans
More news from
Latest News
Top News