Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageRing Legend Lennox Lewis Enters Boxing Halle of Fame

By Roger Tshiamala Tubajiki     Jun 4, 2009 in Sports
Universally recognized former undisputed world heavyweight boxing champion Lennox Lewis will headline the 2009 inductees into the International Boxing Hall of Fame.
Lennox Lewis will be inducted into the International Boxing Hall of Fame at the 20th Annual Hall of Fame Weekend from June 11th to June 14th, 2009 in Canastota, NY. USA.
With a record of 41, 32 by way of knockout, two losses and a draw, Lennox Lewis accomplished a great deal in boxing before announcing his retirement in 2003 after his last dramatic title defence bout, which he won over the Ukrainian Vitali Klitschko, the current WBC heavyweight title. It was on June 21, 2003, at Staples Center, Los Angeles, California, United States, and Vitali Klitschko sustained a bad cut over his left eye in that bout, which forced the ring doctor Paul Wallace to stop the bout after 6 round of a scheduled 12-round WBC heavyweight championship.
“One punch could have changed Vitali’s career, life and certainly what would have changed the history forever is if Vitali never be able to fight again,” stated Dr. Paul William over a decision he made that he thinks to these days was correct then, correct now, and will always be the correct one.
Lennox Claudius Lewis was born September 2, 1965, in West Ham, London, England, and moved to Canada at the age of 12. As amateur boxer, Lewis represented Canada in the 1984 Olympics held in Los Angeles in which he lost to American Tyrell Biggs and in the 1988 Olympics in Seoul, South Korea, in which he captured a gold medal at super heavyweight over Riddick Bowe via a second-round technical knockout.
After his successful amateur career, Lewis return to his native country England and made his pro debut in 1986, which he won by a second-round technical knockout over Al Malcolm and then piled up victories before winning the European heavyweight title in 1990, the British heavyweight title in March 1991 and the Commonwealth title in April 1992.
In Oct. of 1992, in a WBC heavyweight title eliminator, Lewis scored a second-round technical knockout over Canadian Donovan "Razor" Ruddock to become the WBC Nr. 1 heavyweight contender and was proclaimed WBC heavyweight champion in 1993 for the reason that Riddick Bowe, the defending champion at that time refused to defend against him.
Lennox Lewis defended his WBC against fighters such as, Tony Tucker, Frank Bruno, and Phil Jackson before losing his WBC title to Oliver McCall in 1994. In 1997, after defeating Lionel Butler, Tommy Morrison, and Ray Mercer, Lennox Lewis, in rematch, regained his WBC title via a fifth-round technical knockout over the same Oliver McCall, which he defended against fighters such as, Andrew Golota, Shannon Briggs, and Zeljko Mavrovic.
On March 13, 1999, Lewis battled to a controversial draw with ring legend Evander Holyfield, who held the WBA and IBF titles, for the WBC, WBA and IBF heavyweight unification bout that took place in New York City. Months later, on Nov. 13, 1999, the two men fought again and Lewis won a twelfth-round unanimous decision to become the undisputed heavyweight champion of the World.
On June 8, 2002, Lewis retained his title by an eighth-round technical knockout over former undisputed heavyweight champion Mike Tyson, the youngest pugilist ever to win a world heavyweight title.
As a boxing commentator for HBO Sports presentations of World Championship Boxing, Lennox Lewis has joined the broadcast team, calling fights with Larry Merchant, Jim Lampley, Bob Papa, Max Kellerman and Emanuel Steward.
"To be put in the Hall of Fame is an accomplishment that seals my legacy,” states Lennox Lewis.
Jim Lampley and Lennox Lewis
Jim Lampley and Lennox Lewis
Roger Tshiamala Tubajiki
More about Lennox, Lewis, Tubajiki
Sports Video
Latest News
Top News