Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageFormula 1's new 'most wins gets title' system deferred to 2010

By Julian Worker     Mar 20, 2009 in Sports
After the Formula One Teams' Association made its objections known it took the governing body of Formula 1 just two hours to decide that their new system for selecting the 2009 Formula 1 World Champion should be deferred for a year.
On March 17, a new system was in place, but on March 20 the old system came back but just for one season.
Just three days after pronouncing that the Formula 1 World Champion in 2009 would be decided by the ‘most-wins-takes-title’ system, the Federation Internationale de l'Automobile (FIA) have decided to postpone this system’s implementation until 2010. After hearing that the Formula One Teams' Association (FOTA) were upset with this decision, it took the FIA the amount of time it normally takes a F1 race to complete to change their minds and revert back to the old system for the 2009 season.
FOTA were upset because they believed that the FIA had exceeded their powers in implementing the new system, whose champion was Bernie Ecclestone who believed that all the teams were in favour – they weren’t. Ecclestone didn’t like the scoring system, where the winner got 10 points, the runner-up 8 points, the third 6 points etc etc down to 1 point for eighth place, because he felt that too often drivers settled for a few points rather than trying to win the victory and so the racing wasn’t exciting enough. Ecclestone’s ‘most-wins-takes-title’ system also included the awarding of Olympic-style medals so that in effect the driver with the most golds became champion. The idea behind this system was introduced but without the medals.
Having flexed their muscles successfully in this matter, FOTA will now turn their attention to the new voluntary £30million budget cap that’s coming into effect next year. Some within FOTA dislike this idea as they believe it will lead to a two tier Formula 1. If the racing in this year’s Formula 1 season is as quick as the FIA’s climb down then exciting times are ahead. I just hope that the 2009 World Champion scores the most points and wins the most races otherwise there will be finger-pointing of the highest order especially if the season ends like the Brazilian Grand Prix did in 2008.
More about Formula, Bernie ecclestone, Grand prix, Scoring system, World champion
Sports Video
Latest News
Top News