Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

40th anniversary Man Booker Prize to be awarded on October 14

By Susan Keeping     Sep 27, 2008 in Entertainment
This is the 40th year that the Booker Prize, now the Man Booker Prize, has been awarded. Five men and one woman are vying for the award.
The 2008 Man Booker Prize shortlist was announced on September 9th. The winner will be announced on October 14th.
This year there are 5 men and one woman nominated. The nominated works are The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga, The Secret Scripture by Sebastian Barry, Sea of Poppies by Amitav Ghosh, The Clothes on their Back by Linda Grant, The Northern Clemency by Philip Hensher, and A Fraction of the Whole by Steve Toltz. Two of the authors, Aravind Adiga and Steve Toltz are first-time novelists.
This year is the 40th anniversary of the Booker prize and there will also be a "Best of the Booker Award" that will choose one of the past winners of the Booker prize as the best.
The winning book will be chosen by Michael Portillo, editor Alex Clark, author Louise Doughty, bookstore owner James Heneage, and broadcaster Hardeep Singh Kohli.
More about Man booker, Booker prize, Authors
More news from
Entertainment Video
Latest News
Top News