Email
Password
Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageOscars to be held Feb. 22, 2015

By Tim O'Brien     Apr 17, 2014 in Entertainment
After moving to March to avoid all competition with the Winter Olympics, The Oscars will be back in February, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced today.
The show will air live in all time zones on Feb. 22, 2015. With Ellen DeGeneres as host, the recent show saw a spike in TV viewership, with the final number at 43.7 million.
One may wonder, if the show dips below 40 million next year, could it be the move back? Not likely since February is Sweeps Month, when the advertising ad rates are set. The host truly matters with this show, as do the movies nominated.
Key dates:
Saturday, Nov. 8, 2014
The Governors Awards
Wednesday, Dec. 3, 2014
Official Screen Credits and music submissions due
Monday, Dec. 29, 2014
Nominations voting begins 8 a.m. PT
Thursday, Jan. 8, 2015
Nominations voting ends 5 p.m. PT
Thursday, Jan. 15, 2015
Oscar nominations announced
Monday, Feb. 2, 2015
Oscar Nominees Luncheon
Friday, Feb. 6, 2015
Final voting begins 8 a.m. PT
Saturday, Feb. 7, 2015
Scientific and Technical Awards
Tuesday, Feb. 17, 2015
Final voting ends 5 p.m. PT
Oscar Sunday, Feb. 22, 2015
87th Academy Awards begins 7 p.m. ET/ 4 p.m. PT
To get an idea of how popular this show still is, here is a fast fact. It outdrew the 2014 “Golden Globe Awards” by 22.1 million viewers and “Grammy Awards” by 14.5 million.
The Oscars will be held at the Dolby Theatre® at Hollywood & Highland Center® in Hollywood.
More about Oscars, Ampas, Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, Academy, Movies
More news from
Entertainment Video
Latest News
Top News