Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageOnline Film Critics Society goes to ‘Budapest’ for best picture

By Sarah Gopaul     Dec 16, 2014 in Entertainment
‘The Grand Budapest Hotel’ and ‘Birdman’ win big in Online Film Critics Society’s annual awards for excellence in film with ‘Boyhood’ and ‘Gone Girl’ trailing closely.
It’s awards season in the film industry; when critics of every ilk join members of their respective affiliations to vote on the top movies in a variety of categories, including the most coveted best picture honour. The latest to announce their winners is the Online Film Critics Society (OFCS), who selected The Grand Budapest Hotel for their top prize.
The 18th annual OFCS awards for excellence in film were determined after three phases of voting by the more than 275 members worldwide. Founded in 1997, the organization is the largest and oldest of its kind, and a key catalyst in the expansion of Internet-based film journalism.
Wes Anderson’s magical tour de force also took top honours for original screenplay and cinematography. Meanwhile one of the current Oscar frontrunners, Boyhood, was awarded best director for Richard Linklater’s unparalleled vision and best supporting actress for Patricia Arquette’s role as the devoted mother.
“This year represented an opportunity to revisit our youth, look toward the future, and search deep inside our souls through the spectacular array of films shown on screen,” said OFCS co-chair Cole Smithey. “We found courage, love and heartbreak in this year’s films and we’re proud to be able to honour them.”
Alejandro González Iñárritu’s extraordinary Birdman was the other big winner with three awards: best actor for Michael Keaton’s washed-up, neurotic star; best supporting actor for Edward Norton’s self-centred co-star; and best editing for the seamless cutting between the film’s long takes. And David Fincher’s Gone Girl received awards for best adapted screenplay and best actress for Rosamund Pike’s captivating performance as the missing wife at the centre of the story.
Best film not in English was bestowed upon Two Days, One Night, the exceptional story of a woman with one weekend to convince her co-workers to vote for her to keep her job; while Life Itself, which chronicles the life and career of renowned film critic Roger Ebert, won best documentary. The Lego Movie was presented the other overall achievement for best animated feature.
While past OFCS winners that went on to win the Academy Award for Best Picture include 12 Years a Slave and Argo, it’s uncertain if the organization can extend its streak to three years as Boyhood and Selma continue to lead the pack in overall endorsements.
The complete list of winners follows:
Best Picture
The Grand Budapest Hotel
Best Animated Feature
The Lego Movie
Best Film Not in the English Language
Two Days, One Night
Best Documentary
Life Itself
Best Director
Richard Linklater – Boyhood
Best Actor
Michael Keaton – Birdman
Best Actress
Rosamund Pike – Gone Girl
Best Supporting Actor
Edward Norton – Birdman
Best Supporting Actress
Patricia Arquette – Boyhood
Best Original Screenplay
The Grand Budapest Hotel
Best Adapted Screenplay
Gone Girl
Best Editing
Best Cinematography
The Grand Budapest Hotel
Best Non-U.S. Release (non-competitive category)
10,000 km
Entre Nós
Han Gong-ju
Hard to Be a God
The Look of Silence
The Salt of the Earth
What We Do in the Shadows
The Tribe
More about Critics, Film awards, Online Film Critics Society, the grand budapest hotel, birdman
Entertainment Video
Latest News
Top News