Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageMarvel announces five years of superhero movies

By Sarah Gopaul     Oct 29, 2014 in Entertainment
At a not-so-secret event that rivalled its Comic-Con presentation, Marvel announced its roster into 2019 that includes its first solo films to feature a female and black superhero.
The Marvel universe is getting even bigger. At a special event at the El Capitan Theatre in Hollywood, Marvel Studios President Kevin Feige revealed the full slate of films scheduled for release over the next five years. The “Phase 3” announcement includes nine pictures in addition to the already announced Avengers: Age of Ultron and Ant-Man, and features fan-favourites as well as a number of characters who will be making their big screen debuts.
Taking the stage with Chris Evans (Captain America) and Robert Downey Jr. (Ironman) was Chadwick Boseman who was introduced as Black Panther. Though his solo film will premiere November 3, 2017, the superhero also known as T’Challa will have a large role in the third Captain America feature, with a title was confirmed to be Captain America: Civil War and substantiates rumours that the film will be based on the comic miniseries. “Black Panther and all of Wakanda is one of the most interesting characters in Marvel history," remarked Feige. "He’s a bit of a prince, he may even become a bit of a king, but it’s all about how this isolationist country meets the world. Maybe it goes well, maybe it doesn’t.” Concept art for Black Panther’s look was also unveiled and distributed in a special poster giveaway to fans who began lining up for the event at 3 a.m.
 Black Panther  concept art
'Black Panther' concept art
Marvel Entertainment
The studio’s first female-led picture will be Captain Marvel, to be released July 6, 2018. Otherwise known as Carol Danvers or Ms Marvel, she is a member of the U.S. Air Force who gains powers when her genes are fused with that of the Kree, an alien race. Many hoped or expected this honour would go to Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson), but she will instead continue to play significant roles in the other franchises. “Black Widow couldn’t be more important as an Avenger herself,” Feige said. “Her part in Avengers: Age of Ultron is very, very big, and further develops and further enhances her character. The plans we have for her throughout the rest of the Avengers saga is very, very big — and linchpin, in fact, to those films.”
The Norse god’s trilogy will come to an end in Thor: Ragnarok, which translates to “the end of all things.” "This is a very important movie for us in Phase 3," Feige declared. "We plan on taking Thor to another level. It picks up where we leave Thor in Avengers: Age of Ultron and impacts everything that comes after."
While the November 4, 2016 release date was confirmed for Doctor Strange, Feige would not comment on the rumoured casting of Benedict Cumberbatch as the “Master of the Mystic Arts.” “The idea of this film is to open up a whole new corner of the cinematic universe,” said Feige. “We want to enter, through Strange, the world of parallel dimensions."
Following the Hollywood trend, the final Avengers picture, Avengers: Infinity War, will be divided into two parts to be released May 4, 2018 and May 3, 2019 respectively. “We’ve always had a plan since Nick Fury broke into Tony Stark’s house and told him he’s part of a bigger universe," recalled Feige. "Avengers: Infinity War Part 1 is the beginning of the culmination of everything that has come before."
Inhumans logo
Inhumans logo
Marvel Entertainment
“November 3, 2018 will introduce dozens of characters into the Marvel Cinematic Universe," promised Feige with the announcement of Inhumans, which is about a 7,000-year-old group of humans that were experimented on and given powers by the Kree. "We really do believe the Inhumans can be a franchise or a series of franchise unto themselves. They have dozens of powers and an amazing social structure. With our 20th movie in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, we wanted to continue to refine what that universe is about."
Finally, the sequel to this summer’s blockbuster Guardians of the Galaxy will hit theatres two months earlier than expected. Star-Lord and his crew will return May 5, 2017 with writer/director James Gunn also resuming his position at the helm.
Below is a recap of Marvel Studios’ schedule through 2019.
May 1, 2015: Avengers: Age of Ultron
July 17, 2015: Ant-Man
May 6, 2016: Captain America: Civil War
Nov. 4, 2016: Doctor Strange
May 5, 2017: Guardians of the Galaxy 2
July 28, 2017: Thor: Ragnarok
Nov. 3, 2017: Black Panther
May 4, 2018: Avengers: Infinity War – Part I
July 6, 2018: Captain Marvel
Nov. 2, 2018: Inhumans
May 3, 2019: Avengers: Infinity War – Part II
The announcement comes approximately two weeks after Warner Bros. presented its slate of nine films from the DC universe at a shareholders meeting, which includes Zack Snyder’s two Justice League movies (2016 and 2020), Wonder Woman (2017), The Flash (2018) and Aquaman (2018).
More about Marvel, Black panther, Captain marvel, Captain america, avengers
Entertainment Video
Latest News
Top News