Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageHarry Belafonte, Maureen O'Hara among honorary Oscar winners

By Tim O'Brien     Aug 28, 2014 in Entertainment
The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced the recipients of the honorary Oscars. That means an announcement of a host cannot be too far away.
The Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences voted to present Honorary Awards to Jean-Claude Carrière, Hayao Miyazaki and Maureen O’Hara.
“The Governors Awards allow us to reflect upon not the year in film, but the achievements of a lifetime,” said Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs.
The academy's release also noted that Harry Belafonte will be honored with the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award. “We’re absolutely thrilled to honor these outstanding members of our global filmmaking community and look forward to celebrating with them in November.”
The awards used to take part of the annual Oscar celebration but was taken out and now a night of its own in the order of the day. The Academy’s 6th Annual Governors Awards will take place on Saturday, Nov. 8, at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland Center®.
Many may know O'Hara from here role in "Miracle on 34th Street," but "The Quiet Man" may be the one that is remembered by film purists. While Santa (Edmund Gwenn) won an Oscar in "Miracle on 34th Street," her role opposite John Wayne "The Quiet Man" was movie magic. That film was directed by John Ford. She also appeared in other Ford film, including “How Green Was My Valley” and “Rio Grande."
Belafonte is well-known for his activism but he also appeared in film. He starred in “Carmen Jones,” “Odds against Tomorrow” and “The World, the Flesh and the Devil." He is and was deeply involved in Civil Rights.
More about Oscars, Ampas, Films, Film, Movies
More news from
Entertainment Video
Latest News
Top News