Email
Password
Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageGuitar owned by Beatles legend John Lennon going up for auction

By Kev Hedges     Nov 15, 2014 in Entertainment
A Gretsch 6120 guitar owned by Beatles legend John Lennon is expected to raise $600,000 (£400,000) at auction at Le Meridien Hotel in London.
The guitar was used by Lennon when the famous four recorded "Paperback Writer" at the Abbey Road Studios in north London in 1966. Lennon's cousin David Birch, who now owns the guitar after the late Beatle gave it to him in 1967, has put the guitar up for auction with bidding beginning online first.
The bidding started at 4 p.m (GMT) 11.00 a.m (EDT) on Friday November 14. The online bidding process started before the auction event comes into play at the central London hotel. The Gretsch 6120 guitar was first made in the 1950s and was a much-loved model that was used by guitar legend Eric Clapton and rock guitarist Pete Townshend. The actual auction event happens on Sunday November 23 at 2 p.m. (GMT) 9 a.m. (EDT) at the Piccadilly-based hotel in central London.
The guitar was used just as The Beatles were reaching the peak of their recording power and one auction website describes the instrument as "one of the most significant of John's guitars to come on to the market in the last 30 years".
The winner of the auction will also receive several photographs of Lennon playing the guitar in Abbey Road Studios. There have been several recent auctions involving Beatles' memorabilia including the old front door of Paul McCartney's old house in Liverpool, which sold for more than £5,000 ($8,000) and a jacket worn by George Harrison and items of clothing once worn by Ringo Starr.
More about Gretsch 6120, Lennon's guitar, Le Meridien Hotel, The Beatles auction, Pete townshend
More news from
Entertainment Video
Latest News
Top News