Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageEzra Miller cast as The Flash for upcoming Warner Bros. movie

By Mathew Wace Peck     Oct 17, 2014 in Entertainment
Ezra Miller has been cast as the superhero The Flash by Warner Bros., to appear in the studio’s standalone movie, “The Flash”, slated for 2018.
Making the announcement, Warner Bros. also expanded on its full slate of planned Justice League films for the period through to 2020.
Miller becomes the first out-gay actor to be cast as a major superhero, the American actor having publicly come out, at the age of 19, two years ago.
This is significant in that Hollywood actors in particular have long feared — not without just cause — that being open about their homosexuality will harm there careers.
According to a report in Buzzfeed, prior to The Flash itself, Miller is expected to first appear in character in Zack Snyder’s Justice League Part One, in 2017.
Snyder is currently busy with Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, which is due to be released in 2016.
Miller joins the already-cast DC superheroes Wonder Woman (Gal Gadot) and Aquaman (Jason Momoa); and Cyborg’s Ray Fisher, also newly announced.
Miller has appeared in a number of eclectic films — such as Afterschool (2008) and City Island (2009) — and is known for playing the eponymous Kevin Khatchadourian in We Need to Talk About Kevin (2011) and Patrick, the gay friend of Logan Lerman’s character, Charlie, in The Perks of Being a Wallflower (2012).
In total, Warner Bros. has slated 10 films from the DC Comics stable, to be spread over just four years — which Buzzfeed describes as a “highly ambitious attempt to match the box-office might of Marvel Studios, which has grossed over $7 billion worldwide with the 10 films it has released since 2008’s Iron Man,” which starred Robert Downey Jr in the lead.
In Marvel’s case, its superheroes were introduced to cinema audiences in standalone films before bringing them together in 2012, for the studio’s first The Avengers movie.
In contrast, Warner Bros. will scatter its characters in and around the two superhero ensemble movies.
The full list, as now released by them is as follows:
1: Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice (2016) — Zack Snyder (director)
2: Suicide Squad (2016) — David Ayer (director)
3: Wonder Woman (2017)
4: Justice League Part One (2017) — Zack Snyder (director)
5: The Flash (2018) — starring Ezra Miller
6: Aquaman (2018)
7: Shazam (2019)
8: Justice League Part Two (2019) — Zack Snyder (director)
9: Cyborg (2020)
10: Green Lantern (2020)
David Ayer is on directing duties for Suicide Squad, while Snyder is set for Justice League Part Two, as well as the already confirmed Batman v Superman and Justice League Part One.
Note that Miller’s casting as The Flash on the big screen and the film itself shouldn’t be confused with The CW’s The Flash, the television drama series that stars Grant Gustin as the eponymous superhero and in which Wentworth Miller also stars.
More about Ezra Miller, the flash, Grant Gustin, Wentworth Miller, Robert Downey Jr
Entertainment Video
Latest News
Top News