Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageDirectors boost 'Birdman' as Alejandro Inarritu wins

By Tim O'Brien     Feb 8, 2015 in Entertainment
"Birdman" gets a hearty boost as Alejandro Inarritu wins the Directors Guild of America award last night (Feb. 7). It is now the Oscar front-runner as the directors are a good indicator of what is to come.
Richard Linklater and "Boyhood" was slightly favored going in to the Directors Guild of America (DGA) awards, but "Birdman" takes it. The battle of the "B" movies is still on. "Birdman" has won with the Producers Guild of America, the Screen Actors Guild and now the directors.
The directors have a good track record, as 60 of 67 times the winner has won Oscar's top award.
The actual awards can be described as a team award, with Inarritu taking the stage to receive it. Here is the way they present it in their release:
"Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)" - directed by Inarritu - is a Fox Searchlight Pictures production.
His team:
- Unit Production Managers: James W. Skotchdopole, Robert Graf
- First Assistant Director: Peter Kohn
- Second Assistant Directors: Amy Lauritsen, Tim Price
- Second Second Assistant Director: Catherine Feeny
- Assistant Unit Production Manager: Gabrielle Mahon
- Location Manager: Joaquin Prange
This was Iñárritu’s first DGA feature film award. He has been nominated three times before. For a feature film he received a nomination for "Babel" in 2006. He also won two DGA awards for commercial work.
Besides "Birdman," the other nominated directors were:
Wes Anderson - "The Grand Budapest Hotel"
Clint Eastwood - "American Sniper"
Richard Linklater - "Boyhood"
Morten Tyldum - "The Imitation Game"
That aside, it was a big night for women directors as they took home four top prizes.
Feature Film
Alejandro González Iñárritu – "Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)"
Laura Poitras – "Citizenfour'
Drama Series
Lesli Linka Glatter - Homeland for "From A to B and Back Again"
Miniseries or TV Film
Lisa Cholodenko - "Olive Kitteridge"
Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Specials
Glenn Weiss - "68th Tony Awards"
Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Regularly Scheduled
Dave Diomedi - "The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon" for '"Episode #1"
Reality Programs
Anthony B. Sacco - "The Chair" for "The Test"
Children's Programs
Jonathan Judge - "100 Things To Do Before High School" for "Pilot"
Comedy Series
Jill Soloway - "Transparent" for "Best New Girl"
Nicolai Fuglsig - "Sapeaurs, Guinness; Waiting," FEMA
Lifetime Achievement Awards went to James Burrows and Robert Butler.
On this night, Steven Spielberg announced a brand new award. He noted that they will award a – the First-Time Feature Film Director Award, which will be awarded in 2016.
More about DGA, Directors Guild of America, Directors, Movies, TV
Entertainment Video
Latest News
Top News