Remember meForgot password?
    Log in with Twitter

article imageCMAs: Luke Bryan wins top award but Miranda Lambert has big night

By Tim O'Brien     Nov 5, 2014 in Entertainment
Garth Brooks came back to a familiar setting and presented the Entertainer of the Year Award as the Country Music Association Awards wrapped in Nashville. The award went to Luke Bryan. It was the last award of the night and the biggest, too.
Meanwhile, The Country Music Association Awards (CMAs) packed plenty of performances into the 3-hour show, as usual, but there were awards to be handed out, too. A special award that has only been handed out one time before was presented to Vince Gill.
Gill was awarded the Irving Waugh Award of Excellence. The only other winner of this award was Johnny Cash.
Right after that, Blake Shelton took home Make Vocalist of the Year award. Shelton's other half, Miranda Lambert won Female Vocalist of the Year (her fifth).
EARLIER: Country music stars and fans are partying in Nashville now and handing out some awards along the way. Florida Georgia Line and Miranda Lambert have won CMAs as the show continues.
Florida Georgia Line won for Vocal Duo while Lambert took home the first award of the show with Single of the Year for "Automatic." She also took home Album of the Year, so far.
The night began with the usual banter between hosts Carrie Underwood and Brad Paisley. Also, Paisley let it out of the bag that Underwood was would give birth to a boy. Also targets of their humor and barbs were Taylor Swift, Ebola and the elections. All were well received by the country crowd in attendance.
EARLIER: Two categories were already announced as the Country Music Association Awards (CMAs) take over the music world tonight. So, scratch off Music Event of the Year and Music Video of the Year off that list.
The two awards were announced on "Good Morning America" this morning (Nov. 5). “We Were Us” by Keith Urban featuring Miranda Lambert was awarded Musical Event of the Year. Dierks Bentley and Director Wes Edwards won Music Video of the Year for “Drunk On A Plane”
Lambert leads the way with nine nominations.
Meanwhile, it is billed as Country Music’s Biggest Night™ and it arrives tonight, live on ABC. It is also a night for performances which often mix it up a bit.
For example, pop stars show up. Why not, the top pop star right now is a country superstar in Taylor Swift. Here are the announced performances that will take place during the show. Also just announced was the addition of Ashley Monroe to Blake Shelton's performance.
The addition of the Doobie Brothers, Hunter Hayes, Jennifer Nettles, Michael McDonald, Thomas Rhett and Cole Swindel, were just announced as well. Add that to the previous announced, and it is a packed show.
Other performers include Jason Aldean, Dierks Bentley, Luke Bryan, Kenny Chesney, Eric Church, Florida Georgia Line, Lady Antebellum, Miranda Lambert, Little Big Town, Tim McGraw, Kacey Musgraves, Paisley, Shelton, George Strait, The Band Perry, Underwood, and Keith Urban.
Now enter the pop infusion. Ariana Grande will be performing with Little Big Town, while Meghan Trainor performs with Miranda Lambert
Hosted by Carrie Underwood and Brad Paisley, the show airs live on ABC. Winners will be put in bold as they are announced.
Entertainer of the Year
Luke Bryan
Miranda Lambert
Blake Shelton
George Strait
Keith Urban
Female Vocalist of the Year
Miranda Lambert
Martina McBride
Kacey Musgraves
Taylor Swift
Carrie Underwood
Male Vocalist of the Year
Dierks Bentley
Luke Bryan
Eric Church
Blake Shelton
Keith Urban
Vocal Group of the Year
Eli Young Band
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
The Band Perry
Zac Brown Band
Album of the Year
"Crash My Party," Luke Bryan
"Fuse," Keith Urban
"Platinum," Miranda Lambert
"Riser," Dierks Bentley
"The Outsiders," Eric Church
Single of the Year
"Automatic," Miranda Lambert
"Drunk on a Plane," Dierks Bentley
"Give Me Back My Hometown," Eric Church
"Meanwhile Back at Mama’s," Tim McGraw and Faith Hill
"Mine Would Be You," Blake Shelton
Musical Event of the Year
"Bakersfield," Vince Gill and Paul Franklin
"Meanwhile Back at Mama’s," Tim McGraw and Faith Hill
"Somethin’ Bad," Miranda Lambert and Carrie Underwood
"We Were Us," Keith Urban and Miranda Lambert
‘You Can’t Make Old Friends,’ Kenny Rogers and Dolly Parton
Song of the Year (Awarded to Songwriters)
"Automatic," Miranda Lambert (Written by Nicole Galyon, Natalie Hemby and Miranda Lambert
"Follow Your Arrow," Kacey Musgraves (Written by Kacey Musgraves, Brandy Clark and Shane McAnally)
"Give Me Back My Hometown," Eric Church (Written by Eric Church and Luke Laird)
"I Don’t Dance," Lee Brice (Written by Lee Brice, Rob Hatch and Dallas Davidson)
"I Hold On," Dierks Bentley (Written by Brett James and Dierks Bentley)
Music Video of the Year
"Automatic," Miranda Lambert
"Bartender," Lady Antebellum
"Drunk on a Plane," Dierks Bentley
"Follow Your Arrow," Kacey Musgraves
"Somethin’ Bad," Miranda Lambert and Carrie Underwood
Vocal Duo of the Year
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Love and Theft
The Swon Brothers
Thompson Square
New Artist of the Year
Brandy Clark
Brett Eldredge
Kip Moore
Thomas Rhett
Cole Swindell
More about Cma, miranda lambert, Hollywood, Music, Pop
More news from
Entertainment Video
Latest News
Top News